chantal stone photography: the blog

April 14, 2008

We’re Home

Filed under: Inspiration,News,Personal,Photography — chantal @ 10:44 pm

As much as I love going on vacation, I love road trips, I love staying in a hotel, I love visiting new places and seeing old faces… nothing competes with coming home. We had a great time visiting family, eating out, relaxing, going to the beach, etc. And I took TONS of great pictures… of the kids, of the road, even a Wedding photo or two, and of course lots of pics for my SoFoBoMo project.

We actually returned Sunday night, and I spent most of Monday resting since I woke up feeling a bit under the weather. Hubby and I also finished up our taxes and we got that filed finally. Now I’m ready to get back to business! I have some photos to post from a great photo shoot I had before we left for our trip and of course loads of pictures from the actual trip, I’m so excited to share!

But first, for you photographers out there, I just need to share something I read tonight while catching up on some of my favorite blogs. From The Landscapist:

To paraphrase Brooks Jensen – forget about what you have been told is a good picture and simply start picturing what you “see”. What Jensen failed to mention in his dictum is that it is very important to “forget” everything you “know” about pictures and picturing because then, and only then, can you hear what you feel. What you feel is the best “knowledge” that you can harness in the cause of making good pictures. [emphasis added]

Sometimes I do find myself over-thinking what I’m doing, and it’s quotes like these that serve as the kick-in-the-pants reminder to just shut-up and shoot. Shooting by feeling is the way to go folks, and I’m so excited by some great shoots I have planned over the next couple of weeks.

Stay tuned for some new photos all this week!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

