chantal stone photography: the blog

March 30, 2008

SoFoBoMo: Beginning April 1st

Filed under: Personal,Photography,SoFoBoMo — chantal @ 10:36 am

The unofficial slogan of the Army is “hurry up and wait”, as anyone who spent any amount of time in the military can tell you (including me). So it’s no surprise that the start date of my project would have to change when we realized that my husband’s actual departure date will not be until April 30th, allowing me to begin my “Final 30 Days” project on April 1st. For a while, his departure date was somewhat unclear, so now that we know for sure, the countdown begins.

I’m anxious to get started with the project; photography is my life, and combining it with my family is just awesome for me. But then there’s the conflicting feeling of absolute dread, because the start of this project marks the beginning of the end for us. I don’t want my husband to go to Iraq.

Anyway, if you’re following any of the other SoFoBoMo participants’ blogs, you’ll see how many are preparing and planning ahead for their projects. There’s a lot of discussion on printing the book, layout, etc. I’m so impressed with this forethought. It’s so not me. I’m just going to dive right in, shoot what I know from day to day. Since my project is a countdown, of sorts, the images will appear chronologically, which saves me a lot of trouble.  I still plan to use Willow Book to print the final book, unless I come across something else that can equal the quality, ease of use and customization at a lower price. Once the project is complete, I will post the PDF online for everyone to see.

I plan to post regular updates on the project, but probably not every day. We’re not that exciting of a family, so a photo every day of us sitting around watching tv, playing video games, or being online just isn’t that interesting. However, there may be days with more than one post. Initially, I thought about creating a separate blog just for the project, but I decided against it. This blog is about my photography, my work, and my life… and this project encompasses all three.

2 Comments »

  1. I understand what you mean about not so much planning. 🙂 I just plan to shoot, that’s it. Have you decided if you are going to do color or B&W? To me, when I heard about your project, it just spoke to me as B&W. I’m sure that it’s going to be a fantastic project. In one respect, I really look forward to seeing it. In another, I wish that you didn’t have to do it!!!

    Comment by Paul — March 30, 2008 @ 6:10 pm | Reply

  2. Thanks Paul!
    And yeah, when I first thought of the idea, B&W is what I had in mind, but I really love color, so we’ll see. I am leaning towards monochrome, though.

    Comment by Chantal — March 30, 2008 @ 6:14 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

