chantal stone photography: the blog

March 26, 2008

Mid-Week Round-Up vol.6

Filed under: internet,News,Personal,Photography — chantal @ 12:35 am

1) Come play Geek with me! So, I’m usually way behind when it comes to getting on board with the next new thing, or new technology. I resisted getting the internet, I resisted buying a dvd player, I was even the last person I know to get a cell phone. (All three things I could NOT live without, btw) So it’s no surprise that I’m late to the whole MySpace/facebook/online networking thing. And I still do not totally see the point of any of it. When I get a new MySpace message I always wonder why couldn’t the person just send me a regular email? But there’s more….there’s Bebo, Plaxo, Spokeo and Lord only knows what else. And yes, you can find me on all of them. Every time I get an invite I do not hesitate to sign up. I always ask myself whats the point? But I do it anyway….happily. And then I obey, and pass the invite right along to the 998 other people in my address book, just like a good little internet soldier.

In comes my newest little fascination: Twitter. As if email and blogging aren’t enough to keep the world informed of the inanities of my life, I can easily text msg updates on what I’m doing right from my phone to Twitter! So the next time I’m bored in the school parking lot waiting for my one of my kids, or if I’m at the grocery store and I see a really awesome sale on organic chicken breast, or if I’m just too lazy to write a normal blog post but I still feel the need to tell the world exactly what’s on my mind at any given moment, I can just Twitter! The internet is the greatest invention. Ever!

So all of it’s kinda silly, and I’m pretty sure I’m almost too old to be bothered with any of it, HOWEVER….should you feel the need to connect with me on a much deeper level, you may find me at my favorite various internet hot spots, below:

FACEBOOK
TWITTER
MYSPACE

2) RENT-A-BAG? Now they have thought of everything. Do you ever find yourself drooling over that $8,000 Prada purse or the $10,000 Chanel tote that you know you can’t afford? Well now you can….with Bag Borrow or Steal. It’s a new service where instead of buying the designer bag or jewelry, you can RENT it on a weekly basis. It’s still too rich for my blood, but if you have $150 a week to blow on a Fendi clutch then go for it! Me? I’m going to Target (pronounced Tar-zhay, for the uninformed)

3) My four favorite actors right now are:

Kiera Knightly (Pride & Prejudice, Atonement, Silk) – She was BORN to play Elizabeth Bennett, and should rightly play any romantic heroin, forever.

James McAvoy (The Last King of Scotland, Atonement, Penelope) – kinda new to the movie scene, but I’m sure he’ll be around for a long time….totally brilliant in Last King of Scotland.

**NOTE: Kiera Knightly and James McAvoy need to star in every romantic film from now until the end of movie-making-time. The End.

Will Smith (too many weird alien movies, Six Degrees of Separation, The Pursuit of Happiness, I Am Legend) – Nobody can just cold-cry like this dude can, he’s a WAY better actor than I think even HE knows.

Mark Wahlberg (Boogie Nights, The Departed, We Own The Night) – He says the F word better than anyone in Hollywood, 2nd only to Joe Pesci, MAYBE. I’d love to see a movie with Mark Wahlberg, Will Smith and maybe throw in Matt Damon for good measure. Yeah, that would be a good one. Someone needs to get started on that soon.

4) A Letter. Dear Winter, You are now officially done. It’s over. We get it, you’re cold, you make lots of snow. And you make ice too. I missed you back in December. I wanted a white Christmas, but you were no where to be found. So I sadly got over it, and as soon as my heart began to mend with the hope of a new, greener love, you show up. So we had a few laughs, sled down a couple of hills. Big Deal. It is now time for you to pack it up and hit the road. I’m over you. I’m now in love with Spring. Under no circumstances are you allowed to show your frigid face around here this weekend! I am anxious to begin a series of very awesome engagement photo shoots and you WILL NOT RUIN IT FOR ME. Come early in December this year. Heck, you can show up in November and I’ll welcome you with open arms. But for now, Sayonara!

With Love, Chantal

5) Chris Matthews is AWESOME! You HAVE to watch this…the WHOLE thing:

Found via Think On These Things.

6) Fun Photo Shoot Today! Since I’m a photographer, and this is actually a photography blog, tomorrow I just might post a few pictures from a fun photo shoot I am doing today with some kids (a few of them are even my own!)

Stay Tuned!

2 Comments »

  1. Wow, I cant believe Will actually made your list.

    Comment by ure biggest fan — March 27, 2008 @ 6:03 am | Reply

  2. I’m totally with you on Mark Wahlberg! The Truth About Charlie is some of his best work (and the movie has an awesome soundtrack to boot)!

    Comment by Heather — March 27, 2008 @ 12:53 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

