chantal stone photography: the blog

February 26, 2008

Mid-Week Round-Up vol.3…with pics!

Filed under: Personal,Photography — chantal @ 10:46 am

Ok, so I think I am finally back to my (somewhat) regularly scheduled posting. When I thought I was fully recovered from the flu–or whatever it was–apparently I wasn’t. In fact, I am STILL coughing, but much less now and I feel great. My kids are feeling well now too, which is awesome. So today is my day to catch up on all the things I have fallen behind on, including posting a few photos that I managed to snap over the past week or so. Here we go:

1) I can’t believe I forgot all about this! I think it’s so important for people who work from home to find a little network of people who do the same thing. We don’t have the day to day interaction that most people have from going to work in an office or where ever. So LAST MONTH(!) I thought it would be a great idea for a bunch of photographers to get together for lunch. We talked shop, shared stories, networked with each other, and had an awesome time! We seriously need to do this again SOON, because as much as I love Spaghettios with my 5 yr old daughter everyday, sometimes mama needs some adult company :). Here we are….don’t look at me because my face is doing something insane, but next to me are Kevin Lynn, Alison Grogan, Karen Evans, and Heather Claypool.

lunch.jpg

The funniest part was when we asked the waiter to take this photo of us. I brought my son’s point & shoot, which I had never used before, and NONE of us could figure out how to operate the thing. The waiter had to do it for us. And yes, we’re all professionals 😉

***If you’re a Central Ohio photographer (or somewhat nearby) and you want to join us for the next lunch, let me know!! We’d love to meet you!!***

~~~~~~

2) This is only slightly late… did you catch the eclipse last week? We had an awesome view from our house, so we didn’t have to stand outside in the cold. I wasn’t sure if we’d be able to see it because it had snowed earlier in the day and the sky was so gray and cloudy, but just when it got dark, the sky cleared up and the moon lit the sky. I snapped these from my bedroom window. Believe it or not, the 2nd shot was a 1.5 second exposure—handheld!! Nikon VR lenses are AMAZING!

moon.jpg
~~~~~~

3) The worst part about being sick these last couple of weeks was that we had a a lot of snow— which meant SNOW DAYS for my kids. There were a few days were they either had delays or no school at all, but on each of those days ONE of us was near death so we never were able to go out and enjoy the winter weather. As a kid, playing in the snow was one of my favorite things to do! But there’s a big difference between the 6 inches we may get here in Central Ohio and the 6 FEET we used to get back in NW Connecticut. I remember having an entire week off of school because of a snowstorm. Those were the days! Here is Cherie trying to catch a snowflake in her mouth:

cheriesnow.jpg

Isn’t she the cutest??

~~~~~~

4) This past weekend my other daughter, Chanel, had her first dance competition of the season in Dayton. She competed with her dance studio against about 10 (give or take) studios. Her studio did an AMAZING job and took home several Gold medals, including Chanel….she and her groups received 2 Golds and 2 High-Silver medals. Here she is with one of her classes rehearsing in the hallway just before a performance:

dance.jpg

Next month we’ll be going to Louisville, KY for another competition…and then to Disney World in July for a performance!

~~~~~~

5) Tomorrow, my kids are skipping school and we’re all going to see Barack Obama speak at St. John’s Arena on OSU campus. I’m so excited! He’s such an inspirational leader and I’m confident he will make the BEST President. I’m so proud of my kids for taking such an interest in this election process. We have tickets for preferred seating so hopefully I will be able to get some great photos. I’ll be sure to post those soon!

barack.jpg

This is an incredible video…..take a moment to watch!

2 Comments »

  1. it looks like you had a busy week. I really like your work. great job! -candice

    Comment by Mark Brooke — February 27, 2008 @ 9:49 pm | Reply

  2. What is funny about the above picture with you and your friends at the restaraunt is….. everyone sitting is smirking the same, and the two women standing are smiling nicely showing their teeth. Was this some type of photographer-geek-planning? lol… j/k

    Comment by ure biggest fan — March 1, 2008 @ 10:49 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

