chantal stone photography: the blog

February 4, 2008

Reason #86 Why I’m So Blessed To Be A Photographer…

Filed under: Inspiration,Photography,Portraits — chantal @ 6:32 pm

I really wish I was a better writer. Then I’d be able to find to words to describe the most AMAZING event that I am so incredibly blessed to be able to witness. I literally do not possess the vocabulary to express the extreme love, gratitude and good fortune that I feel right now, at this moment. Let me fill you in…

A few weeks ago I did a family/maternity photo session for an amazing person, and truly special family. They welcomed me into their home and into their lives. We laughed, joked around, and in the short span of a brief afternoon, I really feel like I bonded with Erin, an amazing woman, incredible wife and mother, and an awesome photographer.

(I have the habit of falling in love with each of my clients. Perhaps its because I need to get to know a person really well before I can really photograph them, to show who they are with imagery. I really believe that it’s one thing to show what someone looks like…it’s something entirely different to show who they are. That is what I try to do. And in the process, as I explore what makes each of my clients laugh, what their hopes are, their dreams, what makes them tick…as I make them laugh with my lame jokes and try to put them at ease as I click away, something unique happens…the beginnings of a friendship is formed.)

Often after a photo shoot, I feel a little sad because I have to say goodbye to my new friend(s). But with Erin and her family, instead, I said “see you soon”. Today, Erin checked into the hospital to have her baby boy, and I was there to photograph this milestone in the life of this incredible family I have come to love. All night last night I couldn’t sleep and I was a nervous wreck all day. I usually don’t get all worked up over a photoshoot, but 1) I’m shooting another photographer so the pressure is really on to perform (she knows all of the tricks we use;) ) and 2) she’s having a baby and I get to watch!!

As I sat with Erin and her husband today, I felt overwhelmed. Not at the task at hand– photographing life changing events is what I was born to do– but overwhelmed with knowing how tremendously blessed I am to have a job that allows me to experience something so profound: the birth of a human life. And how amazing is Erin and her husband for welcoming me into such a private moment!! I can’t thank them enough for this opportunity.

This is Erin’s 4th child, and she tends to labor for quite some time. So after sitting with her for a few hours, we realized it was still going to be a while before her new baby boy would enter this world. So I came home for a bit and will rejoin Erin later on, when Baby Brody is ready to say hello. Stay tuned for more photos…

hospital1.jpg

3 Comments »

  1. OMG Thank you for posting! Please tell Erin when you see her again that we are all thinking of her and can’t wait to meet Brody!!

    Comment by jannypie — February 4, 2008 @ 7:31 pm | Reply

  2. Yes, we are waiting patiently for Baby J to enter this world! 🙂

    Comment by Rhiannon Ferrari — February 4, 2008 @ 7:52 pm | Reply

  3. […] was born at 9:17pm! I had the absolute pleasure and honor to be there for most of the event. (See yesterday’s post). Words simply can not describe what a momentous evening this was, both for me and for the proud […]

    Pingback by Welcome Baby Brody! « chantal stone photography: the blog — February 5, 2008 @ 12:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

