chantal stone photography: the blog

January 23, 2008

Wedding Tips During The Slow Months…

Filed under: Photography,Portraits,Weddings — chantal @ 11:18 am

January is typically a slow time for most Wedding professionals. Aside from meetings with potential clients for Weddings later in the year….there really isn’t much going on right now. And although I miss shooting, and if called to shoot a wedding THIS AFTERNOON (I really miss it!) I’d grab my camera in a heartbeat, I’m glad for this slow period. It’s giving me a chance to organize my files, re-think my branding, plan for the busy season ahead, and spend much-needed quality time with my family (more on this later). So during these cold winter months (frigid here in the Midwest), aside from the occasional portrait session and snap shots of my kids, I’ll be posting about some other Wedding-related stuff I come across. I know a lot of my clients who are currently planning their Weddings for later this year read my blog (hi!!!), so maybe what I dig up will help them, and help those I have yet to book 😉

One thing that I include in all of my Wedding Packages is an Engagement Photo session. Most couples absolutely love this idea, but occasionally I’m asked if it’s necessary. My answer is always yes. The Engagement photo session is so important for so many reasons. Not only does it give me and my clients a chance to get to know one another better, it will help for the couple to be much more relaxed on their Wedding day, which is so important. And you get all these awesome photos too!

The Wedding Channel is such a great resource for couples planning their wedding, with tips, advice, and planning tools (no I don’t work for them!). Here is what they say about the Engagement shoot:

Q: Do You Need Engagement Photos?

A: While it is not necessary to take engagement photos, there are plenty of reasons why you may want them. Establishing a relationship with your photographer long before your wedding will make a difference in the outcome of your wedding images. Your photographer will be able to watch you and take note of your individual personalities, which will help him capture images on the wedding day that are unique to you.

The other benefit is that you get to know your photographer and see how he or she works. You will get to see images of yourselves long before the wedding, so you can tell him what angles you like and what shots you don’t care for. Hopefully, you’ll have more confidence in yourselves and in your photographer, so on the wedding day you will look forward to having your picture taken…

…Whatever you choose to do, get creative and have some fun with your photographer. In the end you are the ones who win. Knowing and liking your vendors, especially the photographer, is significant in the success of your wedding and will help keep you focused on the real reason you are having getting married in the first place — each other.

(Read the article in its entirety here.)

And let’s face it, once you’re married, and Life settles in, you become busy with your careers, your family, eventually children… the likelihood of having a fabulous photo shoot just for the two of you is slim. I always tell my couples have the Engagement shoot now, while you still can …and I don’t charge extra for it either! 🙂

e-samples.jpg

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

