chantal stone photography: the blog

August 7, 2007

What It’s All About

Filed under: Inspiration,Personal,Photographers/Artists — chantal @ 3:06 pm

My break from the blog world left me with more time to spend in my own head, just thinking about my own work, what my photography is about, where I want to go, photographically speaking. I can’t ignore the feeling, or even need, that I have for my work to be about something. So while trying to figure out and understand my voice, I decided to look further into the work that I am most attracted to. I am a fan of so many great photographers, but there are a few who’s work continues to stand out for me, and from whom I draw the most inspiration. They are David Hilliard, Jasmine Star, and Mark Hobson.

These three photographers couldn’t be more different either. One is a wedding photographer in sunny Southern California, the other is from the educated fine art set of Yale MFA’s and galleries galore, and the third is a commercial photographer based in the Adirondacks who I suspect is more like a mountain man with a camera. There is a common thread though, within their work…there is single common denominator that tie these three photographers together: Relationships.

One day, when I was trying to figure out my own work, where I was going, etc, I carefully looked through the photos made by these 3 photographers and tried to identify what was the single characteristic that attracted me to them. I then looked through my own work, and thought a lot about a single element that I felt strongly about….again: Relationships.

Jasmine is a super-star wedding photographer, and her work explores and celebrates the relationships shared between her clients. I strongly identify with that, especially since I am beginning my own wedding photo business and its these relationships that I want to capture. Anyone can take a picture and show what someone or an event looks like….it takes a special person with a certain gift of seeing into a moment that can show how people feel.

David Hilliard’s work is about his relationship with the people around him. It’s much more personal, and very revealing, intimate even. He exposes himself in such a beautiful and delicate way. It’s my own need to express who I am that attracts me to his work. And Mark Hobson’s photography explores man’s relationship to the environment. He’s a landscape photographer, but not in the traditional sense…his pictures remind us of how beautiful our world is, even down to the smallest or overlooked detail. And it’s these details that catch my eye most often.

In terms of my own work, I felt the need to give myself direction…purpose. I’m driven to shoot. Photography is in me, it’s part of me…a photographer is who I am. But beyond just being a photographer, I felt the need to understand what kind of photographer I am. And now that I am pursuing professional work, along with still doing my own personal work (Art), I felt the urgency to understand what it’s all about. And I wondered how I could balance the professional with the personal—or even if I could.

I find that equilibrium in relationships. Whether I am capturing the joy within the relationship between a man and a woman, a parent and child, or between friends; whether I am paying respect visually to the relationship we have with the earth and drawing attention to the mundane, the quirky, even the beautiful things in our world; or whether I am simply exploring my own relationship with my children, my family, or revealing a bit of myself by saying this is who I am, this is what and how I see; Relationships are the common denominator, it’s what my work is about.

0617200701171.jpg

2 Comments »

  1. Chantal,

    You hit the nail on the head! What I like most about your photography, is the feeling I get from viewing your photos. Whether it is a relationship photo, or a nature photo, or both, I can always “feel” the photo I am viewing. People respond well to emotional photos. And people do things for the feeling whether it’s looking at a photo, hiking, drinking, smoking, cuddling, playing with your kids etc.. You “get the picture right?” I love looking at your photos and reading your words. Keep up the good work, Chantal.

    Sherri

    Comment by Sherri Meyer — August 15, 2007 @ 10:30 am | Reply

  2. Thank you so much Sherri!

    Comment by Chantal — August 16, 2007 @ 1:08 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

