chantal stone photography: the blog

June 27, 2007

My Husband, The NY Times, and Christian Patterson

Filed under: internet,Personal,Photographers/Artists — chantal @ 11:51 am

100_1289_shamon_edited-1.jpg
(photographer unknown, using my husband’s p&s)

My husband recently returned from his 2-week annual training with the Ohio National Guard. It sucks being away from home, but when shooting a weapon like the 50-caliber machine gun, that kind of makes it a bit more fun.

The 50-cal is normally mounted to the top of a tank, but for training purposes, they had it there in the sand. You can see how large it is….my husband (pictured above) is 5’11, and the bullets are as long as his hand. Believe it or not, I qualified on the 50-cal when I was in the Army (looong time ago). Actually, I qualified expert marksman with the M-16 rifle too. I applied the same techniques to shooting a rifle that I learned in my first photography class (breathe, relax, aim, and squeeze).

~~~~~~~~~

Something interesting I found via TheOnlinePhotographer.com, and article in the NY Times (It’ll Be Photographer’s Choice on a Web Site From Corbis, by Katie Hafner) about a new microstock service from Corbis called Snap Village where photographers can upload their photos to the online stock agency, and name their own prices for the images, ranging from $1 to $50. (Think iStock, but different).

~~~~~~~~~

It’s no secret that Christian Patterson is one of my favs. So imagine how happy I was to read this interview he he did for Flashfilm.com. It’s a great interview; brief, but really gives you a sense of who he is as a photographer and an idea of his approach:

I particularly enjoy the process of exploration and discovery in my photography. I get a kick out of finding unique, beautiful, funny moments in everyday places.
I also find some pleasure in capturing things in hidden places, or literally in the middle of nowhere. I like to look for things that are literally hidden, or in some cases just hidden in plain sight.

Christian’s photographs drew me in from the beginning. It’s also great to learn that he is self-taught, fueled by the passion for photography that most of us share.

After you read Christian’s interview, take the time to read the other interviews on Flashfilm.com with some other amazing photographers.

2 Comments »

  1. Just another update on alternatives to a local discussion group. I was recently invited into a small blog (Stills – you can find the link from my blog: Singular Images) that has a restricted membership, but a requirement to post an image at least once per week and you have to provide your thoughts for every image posted by the others. This group is composed of wide range of interests (and locations!), but each of us is seeking for more insights about our images. I already like the increased feedback that this group is providing me, they have been providing very valuable comments.

    Comment by Doug Stockdale — July 9, 2007 @ 12:42 pm | Reply

  2. Thanks Doug, I’ll check it out!!

    Comment by Chantal — July 9, 2007 @ 12:47 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

