chantal stone photography: the blog

May 13, 2007

The Birth of a Project

Filed under: Photography,Process/Learning — chantal @ 11:33 pm

108_2007-05-11_cherie1_edited-2.jpg

I took the above image of my daughter on Friday when we went to the park for a brief photo-shoot. Lucky for me, in addition to being absolutely adorable, Cherie also is a ham for the camera. I shot about 100 frames in about 30 minutes. I didn’t have a clear plan of what I was going for, only a vague idea…I figured I’d let things just flow.

Viewing the images on the back of the camera, I knew I had something here. With a beautiful setting, a warm sunny day, and a willing subject, it would be hard not to have good results. But it wasn’t until I got home, uploaded the images onto my laptop and really viewed them that the magic began to happen. I saw something emerge, ideas swirling, feelings evoked. I felt the beginning of a project.

I like to work in terms of projects. Unfortunately my life seems to be a series of unfinished projects. The problem has often been my short attention span, but also the fact that I have not yet chosen a project that I can really sink my teeth into. I feel the need to explore something deeper than line, light and shape. There’s something beneath the surface.

Actually, there are a couple of things. Recent events, realizations, and discoveries have opened the doors to two (maybe 3) projects (both Art and documentary) that I feel will help me to bring my photography to a different level, but more importantly will also help me to grow as an individual, not only a photographer.

The above image can be seen larger here.
And to see more of the photo shoot with Cherie, check out my photoblog as I post a new image every day this week.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

