chantal stone photography: the blog

March 12, 2007

Trends

Filed under: Photography,Uncategorized — chantal @ 11:20 am

birds on wire

I’ve noticed a trend. It doesn’t really mean anything, but interesting nonetheless. I used to be obsessed with traffic on my photoblog. I wasn’t so much concerned with the number of comments, but I felt a successful day was when the traffic was 100 unique visits or more. (So dumb, I know) During that time, I didn’t have much else going on, and I had a lot of time to visit other photoblogs and comment, so that helped to generate a lot of traffic and increased my own number of comments too.

I always thought that was kind of strange though. There are threads around the photoblogging community on how to increase your own traffic and the overwhelming advice is always to visit and comment other blogs, that’s how people will reciprocate over to your blog. But that seems so junior high doesn’t it? ‘I’ll visit you if you visit me’… I don’t want you to visit my photoblog because I left a comment on your site. And please don’t do it just to get me to visit yours. I want people to look at my work because they like it, or it moves them somehow, or makes them think, or it reminds them of something, or even better, it inspires them in some way. Hell, visit if you hate my work, any reaction is a good one.

The last few months I’ve been really busy with different projects, particularly working on my own photo-projects, so I don’t have the free time I once had to visit other photoblogs. Subsequently, my traffic has dropped quite a bit, but it’s expected. What has increased though is the number of pages viewed. Before, I’d have 100 or more visitors, but only 1 or 2 page views each….now I average about 40 unique visits each day, but the number of pages viewed has increased dramatically.

So fewer new people are checking out my work, but they are staying longer and digging deeper into the archives. That’s a great thing! I feel my photography is evolving and this new trend in traffic suggests that other people are noticing. Whether the new work is liked or not is another thing, but at least people are seeing something that makes them want to look further.

~~~~~~~~~~

girls room

Photoblog POTD, see here.

3 Comments »

  1. Firstly, let me say why I initially visited you: It was because you visited me! 🙂 However, an initial visit only sparks a curiosity on my part. If I stop by and don’t see what I like, I won’t comment and wont’ come back. That said, if I see something that I like, I will visit again and again. I look forward to coming here and seeing what you have to say.

    I’ve only been blogging for about 8 or 9 months, I think. I’ve found that reciprocity is the key to getting traffic; however, I have chosen not to participate, mainly for lack of time and desire. Also, I prefer more text blogs rather than picture blogs. I like meaning, context, and well written thoughts. That is why I continue to visit your site. If you’ll notice, I mostly post on this side of your blog world!

    I used to have separate blogs (photo/commentary), but decided a few months ago to merge them. I’m glad that I did. I don’t get many posts per day and don’t really even look at my stats anymore. I’m just happy when someone stops by, but if they don’t, I still keep right on writing. I love to photograph and write … you can tell, I guess by the length of my comments. Blah, blah, blah!

    I visit about 10 blogs, I believe, perhaps a couple more. Most of them are comment based. A few a photo blogs. I got burned out on them quickly.

    Just keep on trucking right along, despite the trends. Continue to do what you love, and have a good time! For myself, I just can’t wait to get my hands on my camera after I finish working! 🙂

    Comment by paul — March 12, 2007 @ 12:48 pm | Reply

  2. Thought provoking post. I myself have only been blogging since last August, and already I’m getting tired of playing the “game.” Commenting at other sites in hopes of generating traffic on one’s own is like you say, too junior high, especially when one considers the “quality” of most comments. I myself am guilty of this, leaving such pithy comments as “nice” or “I really like this photo.” And frankly, I don’t have that much time where I can visit a lot of blogs and leave insightful, carefully crafted statements regarding the merit of the image.

    At first I added text to my daily photo postings, trying to add some interest to the photo, but I decided that if my photos couldn’t stand on their own, perhaps I had no business posting them in the first place.

    The past few weeks have got me thinking about disabling the commenting feature on my blog. I still want to visit other blogs, but only because I enjoy the images, not because I want to leave comments so others will visit my site. Will see what transpires.

    Also, any chance you could post on your site a few of the images that are going to be in your exhibition? I think those of us unable to attend would enjoy seeing them.

    Comment by John — March 14, 2007 @ 10:03 am | Reply

  3. I’ve considered disabling comments on my photoblog too. People like to leave their opinion and I love the positive reinforcement, but the corrective suggestions can be annoying when I don’t ask for advice, because if I didn’t like the image as is, I wouldn’t have posted it there. Perhaps I’ll disable the comments, and leave all discussion to this blog. Undecided still. It’s not like I’m getting huge numbers of comments anyway.

    Thanks so much for your feedback, John. And once I make my final selection of which prints I’m going to use for the exhibit, I will certainly post them…probably next week sometime!

    Comment by Chantal — March 15, 2007 @ 1:06 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

