chantal stone photography: the blog

February 18, 2007

“Nursery Wines”

Filed under: Uncategorized — chantal @ 7:58 pm

This has nothing to do with photography but…

Wine aficionados will hate this, but I don’t really care. I once bought a bottle of wine because I thought the label was cute. It’s a Pinto Noir called Pinot Evil, with three silly little monkeys covering their eyes, ears and mouth, and I saw it one day in the grocery store. I’m certainly no wine connoisseur, but I know what I like. And I knew what a risk it was to purchase a bottle of wine based on the label…I’ve had enough bad wine to have learned my lesson. But this little discovery was quite the pleasant surprise.

Pinot Evil is a light, airy red, perfect for those who prefer a less full-bodied wine. I read somewhere too, the it’s best when allowed to breath for at least 15-20 minutes before drinking…I’ll have to agree. It’s a French wine, and even though I found it in the grocery store, it’s carried nationwide at World Market.

Now the reason for this post isn’t to talk about Pinot Evil. Today, again at the grocery store, I saw another label that caught my eye…a brand called Three Blind Moose. There was a Pinot Grigio, a Cabernet, a Merlot and a Chardonnay. I didn’t purchase any this time, but I may in the future. The label pictures three urban-chic looking moose, sipping wine.

How cute is it to name your wine after a nursery rhyme? It’s a little bit kampy, a little bit trendy, and kinda cool to boot. I wonder of there are any other “nursery rhyme wines” out there…I’d love to start a collection.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

