chantal stone photography: the blog

May 31, 2006

It’s in the Reclaiming

Filed under: News — chantal @ 2:08 am


It’s nearly 2am so the thoughts may not make much sense, but it’s what’s on my mind at the moment…..

It’s like how sometimes we’re attracted to certain music, or certain movies, or certain scenes. I can’t be the only person who feels this. For instance, I’ll hear a certain song, and somewhere deep within me I feel it. And it’s more than just really liking that specific piece of music. It’s kind of like whatever that particular song is, is part of me, on some deeper level.

It’s a feeling of familiarity.

I get it most times through songs. But sometimes through movies, or works of art. There’s a message somewhere in all of it. And I think that if I can somehow, someway piece it all together, eventually I will gain a better understanding of myself, and how I fit into the world.

Just the knowing that I am part of something greater than myself is only partially fulfilling. The rest comes from the search.

And that’s what my art is for me….a documentation of the search.

I feel like there are fragments of me scattered about. I get a sense of it sometimes through song, through dance, through literature. But I get a hold of it through my photography.

It’s in the reclaiming, that I feel most alive.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

