chantal stone photography: the blog

May 15, 2006

Searching For Inspiration

Filed under: News — chantal @ 12:14 pm


As an artist, of sorts, I often feel the undeniable urge to create. My medium of choice is photography, of course, but I also enjoy writing, and occasionally sketching and painting. For the most part, as long as I am doing something creative, my soul feels nourished.

The problem is, often, the urge to create outweighs my inspiration. What a peculiar feeling it is, to do yearn to do something, anything, really, yet have no idea what it is I want to do.

Most of the time, when I feel this way, I’ll take my camera and my three yr old daughter, and head out to the park. We might go for a long stroll and I’ll snap pictures of the ducks in the pond, maybe some geese, or the trees reflecting on the water. Things like this will often catch my eye. And naturally, I’ll shoot a roll or two of simply just my daughter playing. Her smile forever etched in my heart.

But if the creative inspiration I’m searching for eludes me, most times these pictures look just like snapshots at the park, which is what they are, nothing to write home about.

I’m usually full of creative ideas of projects I’d like to pursue, but my frustration lies when the ideas become jumbled in my head. Sometimes I feel overwhelmed, and I just don’t know where to begin, so I end up doing nothing.

My challenge is learning to siphon through the clogged mess of ideas in my head, and focus on one thing. I crave a certain spark of inspiration. It’s eluding me at the moment.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

