chantal stone photography: the blog

March 22, 2006

My 80’s Road Trip

Filed under: News — chantal @ 1:23 am

My husband and I love music. Who doesn’t, right? I know we’re late to the game, because we haven’t really gotten into downloading yet, but we do have an extensive collection of cds and records. Our collection includes everything from Oscar Peterson and Miles Davis to Simon and Garfunkel, the Eagles and Doobie Brothers; from the Village People to Stevie Wonder, to DeBarge, to Prince and Madonna; from INXS and U2 to Hoobastank and Kelly Clarkson.

There isn’t a genre we don’t like—jazz, hip hop, R&B, gospel, rock, pop, and some country. Although we have some similar tastes in music, in my car right now you’ll find Howie Day, and in his I think he’s actually just been listening to a lot of NPR. Our overall preferences are just a bit different.

So when we started planning a road trip from Ohio to Georgia this summer, aside from hotel arrangements and minivan rentals, the thing at the top of the list was “What are we going to listen to?” What can we both listen to at length without driving each other crazy? It has to be something good and something with longevity because with three kids in the car and my penchant for stopping at every blade of grass to take a photo, a 12 hour trip will quickly become 18 hours.

Solution? 80’s music. Not just the poppy, bubble-gummy 80’s sweet tooth candy music that drove us crazy when we were 13, but also the hot 80’s classics that will endure for decades to come.

We’ve been compiling our favorite songs from the 80’s…gathering the old cds and even been borrowing from the local library and burning the best songs on to iTunes. This process alone has become a sort of road trip in and of itself…a sort of homecoming, a trip down memory lane. The songs we are gathering all bring me right back to where I was the first time I heard them, and it’s this reunion with my pre-teen and teenaged self that has proven to be a welcome trip on its own.

For the most part, my husband and I agree upon what songs to save and compile, and which ones to ditch. So far we have about 4 hours of music saved, so we still have a ways to go. He has his favorites, and I have mine. In the spirit of Sadi Ranson-Polizzotti’s “List of the Moment”, I put together a list of my favorites so far. This is MY ultimate 80’s collection:

”Holding Back the Years”, Simply Red –simply a great song, one that transcends decade or genre. It was great when I was in high school, it’s still great now.

“Always Something There to Remind Me”, Naked Eyes –I liked this one when it first came out, but now I think I love it even more when it’s played on the “Friday Night 80’s” show on our local radio station.

“Missing You”, John Waite –another great song in any decade, all in all though, 1984 was just a great year for music.

“I Ran”, Flock of Seagulls – what’s not to love? For me, this song encompasses all that was 80’s New Wave, with the crazy hair (yes, I did try to sport a similar hairstyle) and all the jelly bracelets and neon socks. This song IS the 80’s.

“Hold Me Now”, The Thompson Twins – again, an 80’s classic, complete with the bad hair and androgyny. Perfection.

“Tempted”, Squeeze –actually anything by Squeeze would be great. One of my favorite bands from that time, this is a song that still sounds fresh and current…at least to me.

“Keep on Loving You”, REO Speedwagon –ok, this song takes me back to the summer between 3rd and 4th grade, my friends and I would all go roller-skating at this rink called Roller Boogie, I had huge a crush on Arnold Brewer, a 6th grader, and when this song came on, I would chase him around the rink, trying to “slow-skate” with him. Ahh those were the days…

“Africa”, Toto –in my opinion possibly the greatest song of the decade. This song reminds me of Christmas, 5th grade, I got my first clock radio and I would fall asleep listening to the radio on “sleep” mode. This was one of my favorite songs of the time, along with “Down Under” by Men at Work. Soooooo 1983.

“Cruel Summer”, Bananarama – all I have to say is Karate Kid, enough said.

“I Want to Know What Love is”, Foreigner – again, my days at Roller Boogie. I had a thing for the slow ones back then.

”Eye in the Sky”, Alan Parsons Project –this song has some great lyrics, but I have to confess I didn’t always like it. It’s one of those songs that gets stuck in your head and you can’ t get it out. Also, my father was a big jazz fan. I inherited most of his old record collection—Coltrane, Duke Ellington, Cole Porter, Ella, etc. I remember once he had a friend over and my father was telling him how he listened to jazz. The guy then said “Oh you like jazz? Then I have something you really need to listen to…” The next day the guy brought over a copy of the Alan Parsons Project. My father, trying to be polite, was like “Uh okay, yeah this is interesting.” But even to my pre-pubescent ears, I was like “this is supposed to be jazz??” Yeah right. Anyway, the song grew on me.

“Lucky Star”, Madonna– no explanation necessary…it’s Madge.

“Pride (In the Name of Love)”, U2– great song, even better album, The Unforgettable Fire.

“Don’t You Forget About Me”, Simple Minds – one word… The Breakfast Club! Okay, that’s three words, but still, classic 80’s movie, kick-ass 80’s anthem.

And there you have it folks, my Ultimate 80’s Collection. I’m still adding, always compiling. Our trip is not until June, so I still have a bit of time. I don’t know what I’m more excited for, the family reunion in Georgia, or the Soundtrack!!!

3 Comments »

  1. Great song choices Chantal! I think each decade has some great stuff – but for some reason, I love the 80’s!
    (i sound a little VH1- huh?)

    Comment by MaryKay — March 27, 2006 @ 8:59 am | Reply

  2. i tend to sound a little VH-! ALL the time….thanks for stopping by MaryKay!

    Comment by chantal stone — March 27, 2006 @ 9:45 am | Reply

  3. don’t forget “Tainted Love”

    Comment by Murphy — April 2, 2006 @ 5:04 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

